Home

Now as I come to the end of my first ethical mission, it seems appropriate to reflect on some of the things I’ve discovered about propaganda, spin and persuasion.

khloe-kardashian-peta-adI believe that all three are prevalent in today’s PR industry but actually don’t deserve the propagandist label they’ve acquired  gone are the days when the only connotation with propaganda is a flashy anti fur campaign fronted by one of the Kardashians. It seems that propagandist tactics are becoming ever more under hand and are subliminally manipulating the minds of the public; before they’re even aware any PR activities have taken place. Take the recent case of Wiki-tweaking from a leading UK PR agency, they indirectly deceived their public in order to make their client look good or were they just doing their job?

The answer is still unclear, I’d like to think I would sit up there on my moral high horse in the same situation. But the reality is I’d most likely do as I’m told, but I don’t think that makes me a morally weak person…I’m just a realist and know that I may have to be a ‘yes man’ for a few years but I don’t believe that is a reflection of my personal morals.

Persuasion on the other hand continues to dwell in the background as propaganda’s socially acceptable step-sister and I do maintain that we live in a society where whoever shouts loudest will be heard. The good news is that with digital innovation becoming a real budget grabber there will no longer be the vicinity to shout, campaigns are getting smarter and it’s those with the viral/engagement appeal that do well.  Take the following examples for some quite un-sexy products, they were also the most successful online campaigns of the year:

However the main learning curve in this whole experience for me personally has been my changing attitudes towards CSR. I was once a cynic but have now been reformed thanks to my blogging intervention, I discovered that there is sometimes no need to pick holes in every little thing a large corporate entity does. So  you spilled oil all over the Gulf of Mexico? You’ve done a lot for local communities and surely that’s a double-edged sword and the lesser of two evils.

But I know this isn’t the end, my ethical standing will evolve throughout my career but nevertheless I hereby declare that I will do my utmost to keep PR on the straight and narrow, however if this Guardian article is anything to go by, I’ll have quite the fight on my hands.

Do you worry about your professional morals being a reflection of your personal moral standing?

4 thoughts on “Like It or Lump It.

  1. I think in the PR industry we ultimately have a responsibility to advise and guide clients and steer them away from potentially damaging decisions. It’s about correctly communicating, not covering up. Whilst persuasion may well be part and parcel of what we do, propoganda should never have a role in PR.Also in a new digital age brands increasingly need to be more transparent with their consumers, and ‘covering’ up is never the correct way to handle bad news or bad stories. Honesty and transparency are key!

    • Thanks Babs, I think these are great mantras to live by! I also believe that as digital campaigns take center stage, issues can no longer be swept under the digital rug. It gives companies the chance to be creative and innovative with their budget but should also carry a warning that it cannot be treated with the same level of discretion as some past campaigns. This is an areas that I’d be interested in researching further as I do think that the ‘ethics rule book’ will need to be re-written for this new era.

  2. In my early career,rather naively,I thought I could never be persuaded to to compromise on my integrity and thought my moral high ground would always be well and truly in tact – however, 30 years on I realize now that the best way to survive the corporate jungle is to separate out personal and professional morals – something I am now a master of! It doesn’t make me a bad person it just means that in my work life I have been known to be economic with the truth as, by being any different, would be potentially damaging to my company and therefore my livelihood.

    • Thanks for you comment Alison! It’s reassuring to know that I’m on the right track in terms of splitting up my personal and professional ethics. I agree with your point that it’s no more than a rose tinted view to think that your morals will never be stretched at work but also comforting that you’ve never seen this as a reflection of you as a person.

Leave a comment